Wednesday, June 4, 2008
The Chamundi Hills on the outskirts of Mysore city is another famous landmark of the city, Mysore.The Chamundi Hills is about 3km from the city. It is at a height of 1065 meters above sea leave and about 800 feet above Mysore city. On the top of the hill is the Chamundeshwari temple that dates back to the 11th century. Goddess Chamundeshwari is an incarnation of Goddess Parvathi(wife of lord SHIVA) who took this form to destroy the demon king Mahishasura(symbol of sins).
The Chamundi Temple on top of the Chamundi hills is the most famous temple in Mysore, since Goddess Chamundi or Chamundeshwari is the presiding deity of Msyore. Initially the temple was a small one, but over the past few centuries, as a result of the patronage and expansions made by the Mysore Maharajas it has become a big temple. In the olden days, human and animal sacrifices were regularly made at this temple, but were stopped in the 18th century.
The temple has a quadrangular structure. The Gopura or pyramidal tower at the entrance is intricately decorated in the Dravidian style and has a small statue of Lord Ganesha on the doorway. The doorway is silver-plated and has the images of Goddess in different forms on it. As one passes through the main gate, on the right hand side is a small statue of Lord Ganesha, the remover of all obstacles. Climb a few steps and there is a flagstaff, the footprints of the Goddess and a small statue of Nandi, facing the sanctum sanctorum.
Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar repaired this temple in 1827 and built the enormous tower on it. He also gifted the temple with a large wooden chariot known as the Simha Vahana, which is now used during the Rathotsava or car festival.
Auspicious days to visit the temple are Tuesdays, Fridays and the 10 days of Dussehra. Temples is open from 7.30am to 2pm and from 3.30pm to 6pm. The tower of the temple is illuminated on festivals and on public holidays.
Tuesday, June 3, 2008
The Jaganmohan Palace in Mysore is one of the oldest buildings in Mysore. This Palace is more that 150 years old.This Palace was built in 1861 and was initially an ornate wooden one and was being used by the Royal family when a fire destroyed it in 1897. The Royal family lived in this palace till the main Mysore Palace was built. The coronation of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV was held here in 1902. The then Viceroy and Governor-General of India, Lord Curzon, attended this ceremony.To this day many cultural activities and conferences are held in this hall as it is in the heart of the city. This includes the cultural programmes held during the Dasara festivities. This hall has two huge wooden doors on which is carved the Dashavatharas or ten incarnations of Lord Vishnu. The main structure of Jaganmohan Palace consisting of three stories(THREE FLOORS) has been converted into the famous Jayachamarejendra Art Gallery during the reign of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. It displays the paintings and artifacts that belonged to the Kings of Mysore. Today this art gallery is considered one of the best in South India.One can see 5-6 small shops selling the art of Mysore.Just with Rs.10/- in your pocket one can enjoy the rich art and heritage of royal time.